What is Good Friday All About

Good Friday is said to be one of the holiest days in Christianity; it was the day Jesus was crucified. This day is also known as Holy Friday and is falls on Friday that is immediately followed by Easter Sunday. Every year Good Friday falls on a different date; in 2016 Good Friday was held on 25th March and in 2017 it will fall on 14th April.

Why is it called Good Friday?

The main question that comes to mind is that why is it called Good Friday considering that it was the day that Jesus was crucified and why is this day celebrated? It is said that good is just a misrepresentation of Holy Friday, and some argue the fact that Good Friday is an imitation of God’s Friday. There are a few people who also believe that it is called Good Friday as it signifies a day that you go to the church and pray to God, and you spend your day taking part in religious activities. It is the same as giving good tide to someone on any other religious holiday.

But these are all just theories. The real reason as to why this day is called Good Friday is yet unclear, every person has their beliefs and follows the theory that they have been told for generations.

How is Good Friday celebrated?

There are many ways in which Good Friday is celebrated; the common thing between all of them is that they all involve prayers. There is a mass held at the church, and many churches have the Stations of the Cross. Some people host guests as well during the afternoon where they serve tea to their peers along with buns. Some people also observe a fast or abstain from eating on this day. Many people make it a point to pray exactly at 3:00 pm as it is said that Jesus died at this time on this day. People also make it a point to reflect on the death of Jesus during the entire course of the day, which is the purpose that this day is observed.

Facts about Good Friday

There are a few facts related to Good Friday that many people don’t know about. Though there are many different theories regarding Good Friday, these facts are prevalent and observed by Christians.

Jesus was crucified

Good Friday is the day on which Jesus was found, trailed, crucified and was also buried. If you read the Bible, you will get to know the entire story that took place on this day. The people found Jesus at his hiding place and from there he was taken by the people to have the judgment passed upon his trial. Even though he has been pronounced innocent by the Roman governor of that time, the people still demanded that he should be killed. They acted horribly towards him by beating him up with stick and stones, he was also spat on, and his clothes were ripped apart; he was made to wear a crown of thorns. After that, he was nailed to a cross and hung until he died after which he was buried.

Mass is not celebrated

When a mass is held at church, it is usually celebrated, but on this day it does not. There are no decorations in the church neither are people celebrating the day or greeting each other as they do on happy occasions. Although, a cross is venerated in the church; it is put up in the middle of the altar where people can easily see it. Many people also come up to it to kiss it and touch it in remembrance of Jesus and his suffering and as a way to pass their love to him.

People fast and abstain from food

As Good Friday falls during the Lenten season, the same rules of fasting that are applied through the season also apply on this day. It is a day that people make sure that they are quite, no celebrations take place inside the house and those involved on this day ensure that their demeanor is hushed. People do not engage in any outside activities, neither do they interact with other people too much. It is minimal or no use of appliances such as the TV or the laptop. On this day of fasting, Christians are only allowed to have one proper meal in during the day, they can also consume two small meals as well, but they cannot consume any meat. The fast is mainly observed from 9:00 am to 3:00 pm, the time duration that the crucification and the other events took place until the death of Jesus.

Devotees walk the Station of the Cross

Many faithful devotees of Jesus walk the Station of the Cross, which is a fourteen stop devotion process that the faithful follow to show their sorrow and love for Jesus. The stations are as follows:

  1. Jesus’ condemnation to death
  2. The cross was carried by Jesus
  3. The first fall of Jesus
  4. He got to meet his mother
  5. Simon helped Jesus to carry the cross
  6. Jesus’ face was wiped by Veronica
  7. The second fall
  8. Meeting with the women of Jerusalem
  9. The third fall
  10. The clothes of Jesus were taken
  11. He was nailed to the cross
  12. Death of Jesus on the cross
  13. Jesus’ body was taken down from the cross
  14. His body was buried in the tomb

This day is said to be a holy day for Christians, but even though the name may indicate the fact that people celebrate Good Friday, the opposite of that is true. It is a day when people remember Jesus and pray to God. Many people celebrate the day differently and according to their traditions, but the facts that they all have in common is that they all pray in their ways and ensure that there is no happiness surrounding their houses or families.